Women’s Golf News


The Dyer Ladies League held its annual awards banquet Sept. 17 at Giovanni’s Restaurant in Weirton.

Mary Alice Meyer led the evening with a prayer.

President Mary Arehart presented awards, and a brief meeting was held to discuss the 2014 season and the upcoming Oktoberfest Scramble, which is now full.

An “attendance drawing” was held and won by Mishal Hawthorne.

Photo books of the 2013 season were given to each league member. Mums were given as door prizes.

George and Cookie Fisher were welcomed as guests.

2013 season winners were:


A Flight: Mishal Hawthorne (Birdies & Eagle); Paula Hope

B Flight: Ruth Lamantia, Teri Barkley


The whole league had multiple birdies and were rewarded accordingly.


A Flight: Debbie Phillippi (improved 13 strokes)

B Flight: Teri Barkley (improved 19 strokes)

C Flight: (Tie) Mary Arehart, Arlene Owens (improved 17 strokes)


A Flight: Gross: Mishal Hawthorne; Net: Kathy Sapp

B Flight: Gross: Vickie Grant; Net: Signa Findlay

C Flight: Gross: Mary Arehart; Net: Ann Eroshevich

Dyer Ladies Association Tournament Winners:


1st Low Net: Ruth Lamantia; 2nd Low Net: Vickie Grant


Gross: Ruth Lamantia; Low Net: Mary Arehart


A Flight: First place: Cindy Montgomery; 2nd place: Paula Hope

B Flight: First place: Vickie Grant; 2nd place: Mary Arehart


The Blackmoor Monday Night Ladies League played a “Blind Draw” on Sept. 16, and the winners were Cheryl Black, Lori Defallo and Tammy Cox.

Linda Caputo had putts.

The winner of closest to the pin on the second shot for hole No. 8 was Lori Defallo.

There was a long drive on hole No. 1, the winner being Yuko Atwell. The next event is scheduled for Monday. All women are welcome.


Joanne Watson was hostess for play on Sept. 18 for the Cadiz Country Club Women’s Golf Association,

The game was “Odds to the End,” with players scoring only odd numbered holes using half their handicaps for net totals. The winner was Nep Rowland.

The low putt pot was split between Nancy Beckert and Peg Buchanan.

Wednesday will be the final day for organization play with the starting tee-off time at 1 p.m., followed by dinner and the presentation of annual awards.



Monday evening’s women’s nine-hole golf league had its annual end-of-the-year scramble and awards banquet on Sept. 14.

Mary Ann Bainbridge was awarded low gross and champion for the yearly tournament. She was given a trophy, and her name was inscribed on the league plaque located in the clubhouse. Other awards are as follows:

First flight, low net: Signa Findlay

Second flight, low gross: Dorothy Baier

Second flight, low net: Holly Kisner

Third flight, low gross: Susan Mazzocco

Third flight, low net: Sheri Nuzum

Scramble winners:

First-place team: Mary Ann Bainbridge, Peg Barber, Susan Mazzocco, Sheri Nuzum

Second-place team: Patty Filak, Donna Burch, Holly Kisner, Sheila Robinson

Third-place team: Signa Findlay, Patty Gerlando and Pam Walters

Special Awards:

Longest drive:

First flight: Mary Ann Bainbridge on No. 5 and Patty Filak on No. 14

Second flight: Peg Barber on No. 5 and Holly Kisner on No. 14

Third flight: Janet Backel on No. 5 and Sheri Nuzum on No. 14

Closest to the Pin:

Holly Kisner on No. 5 and Patty Filak on No. 17

Longest Putt: Janet Backel on No. 13

Chip-in: Mary Ann Bainbridge

50/50s: Peg Barber and Susan Mazzocco

Officers for the year were Sheila Robinson, Signa Findlay, Erin Ankrum and Patty Filak.


The Pleasant Valley Ladies’ Golf League of Ponderosa Golf Course announced its August winners at a luncheon meeting on Sept. 4. Tournament Director Linda Wade announced the following:

Aug. 7

Event: N-O-S-E and low putts

Winners: First, Terry Viskovicz; second, Linda Wade

Low Putts: Tie between Terry Viskovicz and Diane Kessler

Chip-ins: Peggy Fiodorczyk, Diane Kessler, Mary Lou Recinella

50/50 winner: Linda Wade

Aug. 14

Event: T’s and F’s

Winners: First, Betty Patterson; Second, Karen Heinz

Birdies: Terry Viskovicz, Betty Patterson, Diane Kessler

Chip- ins: Barb Williams

50/50 winner: Diane Kessler

Aug.t 21

Event: Best Nine Doubled

Winners: First, Terry Viskovicz; Second, Karen Heinz

Birdies: Terry Viskovicz

Chip-ins: Terry Viskovicz

50/50 winner: Linda Wade


A Tin Cup Tournament was the weekly event for the Steubenville Country Club Women’s Golf Association with Marilyn Kenny and Dianna Adams as chairmen. Points were given for net eagles, birdies, pars and bogeys and were totaled to determine the winners.

In the first flight Kenny and Koh tied for first place with 36 points with Kenny winning low putts. Theresa Metcalf took first place in the second flight with 40 points. Adams came in second with 35 points, and she also won low putts.

The winners in the nine-hole golfers were Dotty Tegano, first place and putts, and DeeDee Scugoza, second place.

This week will be closing golf day with the traditional jungle tournament being played followed by an awards luncheon and business meeting in the clubhouse dining room. Winners of major tournaments throughout the golf season will be recognized. Golfers are asked to sign up in the ladies locker room.