Women’s Day celebration at Second Baptist Church

Three days of events are planned as the women of Second Baptist Church located at 717 Adams St., Steubenville, prepare for their annual Women’s Day celebration.

It kicks off Friday with the church’s flag ministry, Waves of Glory, marking its fifth anniversary with a 6 p.m. service at the church featuring guest speaker Evangelist Ruth E. Stinson, an associate minister of Mount Carmel Baptist Church in Steubenville.

Stinson was one of the first graduates of the Biblical School of Lydia of Brookhollow Baptist Church, has taught in theological programs and is a religious consultant. She is the recipient of numerous awards, including the NAACP President’s Award for Religious Affairs and the Coretta Scott King Award for Strong Women and Strong Leaders from West Virginia Northern Community College. She is the mother of three children.

Waves of Glory members are Diane Benjamin, Terri Dixon, Sharol Fields, Patricia Herring, Pamela Ingram, Peggy Ingram, Gail Johnson, Alice Lawson, Karen Solomon, Melody Walton and Jocelyn Watkins.

The Constance J. Vinson luncheon will celebrate its sixth year by honoring 12 women of Second Baptist Church at 11 a.m. Saturday. Family and friends are encouraged to attend the event where there will be a free will offering. Patricia Herring is chairperson of the event with committee members including Terri Dixon, Diane Benjamin, Gail Johnson, Beverly Huffman, Cynthia Macon and Cynthia Smith. The guest speaker will be the pastor, the Rev. Trudy Toson.

The women of Second Baptist Church will conduct the annual Women’s Day service Sunday beginning with Sunday school at 9:15 a.m.

The youth department will present their service from 10:30 a.m. to 11 a.m. under the direction of Cynthia Smith and Cynthia Macon.

The Women’s Day choir will be directed by Rhonda Parrish with Ernestine Lee as musician.

“Don’t Just Sit There” is the theme of the service with scripture from Psalm 34:3 to be read by Lee and Proverbs 31 by Vivian McLoyd.

The presiding officer for the worship service will be Lois Reeves.

T.O.P. will present the devotional period followed by the Waves of Glory flag ministry.

Also participating will be Melody Walton, concerns of the church; Pam Ingram, recognition of guests; Mickie Williams, welcome address; Carolyn Simmons, special observations; financial offering, Byrdie Owens, Trina Lawson, Laura Clausell, Leonette Murray, Connie Vinson and Karen Lawrence; Patricia Herring, memorial period; Gail Johnson, intercessory and meditation prayer.

Peggy Ingram will introduce the guest speaker, the Rev. Wanda Simmons.

The invitation to discipleship will be presented by the Rev. Calvin McLoyd Jr., church pastor.

Connie Vinson is president of the women’s ministry.